The Sports Bay


Cristiano Ronaldo Set To Be Named FIFA Player Of The Year

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has been revealed to be the winner of the 2016 FIFA Player of the Year award.

FIFA are hosting their own player of the year award after ending their six-year-old association with France Football, organisers of the Ballon d’Or.

Ronaldo has already been named the winner of the 2016 Ballon d’Or and if a report by Mundo Deportivo is anything to go by, the Real Madrid star will win the FIFA Player of the Year award.

The Player of the Year award would round up an incredible year for the 31-year-old who won two European titles with Real Madrid (Champions League) and Portugal (Euro 2016).

The same week he was awarded the 2016 Ballon d’Or, Ronaldo also lifted the Club World Cup with Real Madrid and was also named Player of the Tournament.

Ronaldo was named Man of the Tournament as Real Madrid won the 2016 Club World Cup (Instagram/Cristiano Ronaldo)

In 2016, Ronaldo scored 55 goals in 57 games for Real Madrid and 13 goals for Portugal.

Lionel Messi, his main rival won La Liga and Copa del Rey double with Barcelona but missed out on a trophy with Argentina after losing the 2016 Copa America final to Chile.

Messi was a runner-up to Ronaldo in the Ballon d’Or voting.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

The SportsBay is a sports news digital magazine dedicated to bringing our growing local and international audience premium content in the world of sports. The desire to enrich and update our readers is one of the factors having this site up. Our goal is to fill that gap and keep readers and followers abreast with cutting-edge content.

Football Data

Latest soccer scores info. Football results, table & fixtures being loaded.

To Top
%d bloggers like this: