Falcons Coach Invites 30 Players For 2016 AWCON

By  |  0 Comments

The Super Falcons’ Head Coach Florence Omagbemi has invited 30 players as the team begins for the 2016 Women Africa Cup of Nations.

The list which will eventually be cut to 23 is made up of eight foreign-based players and 22 home–based players.

Reigning Africa Woman Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala leads the foreign –based contingent while Osinachi Ohale leads the home –based.

The African Women Africa Cup of Nations, holds in Cameroon from Nov. 19 to December 3 2016.

The falcons are in Group B alongside Ghana, Mali and debutants, Kenya.

Omagbemi has assured her team would not underrate any of its opponents.

Nigeria is the defending champions of the competition, having defeated Cameroon, in the final of the previous edition in 2014, hosted by Namibia.

Ibubeleye Whyte, Osinachi Ohale, Gladys Akpa, Ugo Njoku, Chioma Wogu, Glory Iroka (Rivers Angels); Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Osarenoma Igbinovia, Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa United); Nkemakola Uwandu (Inneh Queens); Rita Akarekor, Alice Ogodo (Delta Queens); Seun Bello, Maureen Toyla (Confluence Queens); Nnenna Eke (Ibom Angels); Gladys Abasi, Sherifat Saheed, Yetunde Aluko, Ijeoma Obi (Sunshine Queens); Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Nnenna Julius, Chioma Nwankwo (Adamawa Queens)

Foreign-Based: Rita Chikwelu (Umea IK, Sweden); Ngozi Okobi (Vittsjo FC, Sweden); Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF, Sweden); Ngozi Ebere (PSG Ladies, France); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Avant Guingamp, France); Desire Oparanozie (Avant Guingamp, France); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Arsenal Ladies)

•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *