Mikel, Iheanacho, Enyeama, Moses, Oshoala Nominated For Nigeria Pitch Awards

By  |  0 Comments

The organisers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards have released the nominees for the 2016 edition of the Awards that celebrate excellence in sports.

According to the awards’ official website, for the Goalkeeper of the Year prize, former Super Eagles captain Vincent Enyeama will battle his successor Carl Ikeme of Wolverhampton Wanderers and FC IfeanyiUbah keeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

Eagles skipper John Mikel will contest for the Midfielder of the Year gong with in-form Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo

Leon Balogun will have to contend with Eagles central defence partners William Troost-Ekong and Kenneth Omeruo for the Defender of the Year award

Kelechi Iheanacho, Chisom Egbuchulam and Godwin Obaje are in the race for the Striker of the Year Award, while Obaje, Egbuchulam and Stephen Odey are the contenders for the NPFL MVP award.

According to nigeriapitchawards.com the NWPL award for Nigeria’s women’s football stars has Osinachi
Ohale, Rafiat Sule and Chioma Wogu vying for the honour.

Asisat Oshoala, Onome Ebi and Desire Oparanozie are contesting for the Queen of the Pitch Award, while Victor Moses, Mikel and Kelechi Iheanacho are fighting for the King of the Pitch Award.

The award will hold on June 10 after the Super Eagles’ 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo.

•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *