Ronaldo, Murray, Bolt, Biles Nominated For Laureus Sports Awards

By  |  0 Comments

Reigning World Footballer of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo has been shortlisted among the nominees for the 2017 Laureus Sportsman of the year award.

The Portuguese is nominated alongside Male Tennis World No 1 Andy Murray, Multiple Olympic Champion Usain Bolt, British Athletic star Mo Farah, and NBA stars Stephen Curry and LeBron James.

The 2017 Sportswoman of the Category feature US Multiple Olympic champions Simon Biles alongside other Olympic Champions such as Britain’s Laura Kenny, USA’s Alyson Felix and Katie Ledecky, and Jamaica’s Elaine Thompson.

The final nominee for the 2017 Sportswoman of the year is the female tennis World Number one Angelique Kerber.
Real Madrid’s historic unbeaten run earns them a nomination in the team of the year category alongside European Champions Portugal while Leicester City Football Club and the Iceland National Team are in the Breakthrough of the year Category.

The full nominations
Sportsman of the Year award
Usain Bolt (Jamaica) athletics, Stephen Curry (US) basketball, Mo Farah (GB)athletics, LeBron James (US) basketball, Andy Murray (GB) tennis, Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) football.

Sportswoman of the Year award

Simone Biles (US) gymnastics, Allyson Felix (US) athletics, Angelique Kerber (Germany) tennis, Katie Ledecky (US) swimming, Elaine Thompson (Jamaica) athletics, Laura Kenny (GB) cycling.

Comeback of the Year award
Ruth Beitia (Spain) athletics, Michael Phelps (US) swimming, Juan Martin del Potro (Argentina) tennis, Fabienne St Louis (Mauritius) triathlon, Nick Skelton (GB) equestrian, Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) skiing.

Team of the Year award
Brazil men’s Olympic football team, Cleveland Cavaliers (US) basketball, Chicago Cubs (US) baseball, Mercedes AMG Petronas (motor racing), Portugal (football), Real Madrid (football).

Breakthrough of the Year award
Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia) athletics, Fiji rugby union sevens, Iceland football,Leicester City (England), football, Nico Rosberg (Germany) motor racing, Wayde van Niekerk (South Africa) athletics.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award
Ihar Boki (Belarus) swimming, Sophie Pascoe (New Zealand) swimming, Omara Durand (Cuba) athletics, Siamand Rahman (Iran) weightlifting, Marcel Hug (Switzerland) athletics, Beatrice Vio (Italy) fencing.

Action Sportsperson of the Year award
Rachel Atherton (GB) mountain biking, Pedro Barros (Brazil) skateboarding, John John Florence (US) surfing, Chloe Kim (US) snowboarding, Kelly Sildaru (Estonia) freestyle skiing, Tyler Wright (Australia) surfing.

•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *