The Sports Bay


Victor Moses, Asisat Oshoala Win Maiden NFF Player Of The Year Honours

Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses has been named the Nigerian footballer of the year at the inaugural edition of the Aiteo-NFF Awards 2018, while China-based Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala has been named the women footballer of the year on Monday.

 Moses saw off competition from Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi and Anthony Okpotu of Lobi Stars to win the Player of the Year award.

Oshoala, the reigning CAF Women’s Footballer of the Year, bested Francisca Ordega and Charity Reuben to win the female prize.

At an event held at the Grand Ballroom, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos the duo were named winners in front of an audience including FIFA President Gianni Infantino, FIFA Secretary General, Fatma Samoura, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and the evening’s host, NFF President Amaju Pinnick.

It was an opportunity for past and present Nigerian football dignitaries to be gathered together and honoured in an award ceremony to celebrate the best of the nation’s football during the last 12 months.

Coach of reigning Nigeria League Champions Plateau United, Kennedy Boboye, was named Coach of the Year award (Men), and Sikiru Olatunbosun of MFM FC was honoured with the Goal of the Year award for his exceptional strike against Enugu Rangers in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Other winners on the night were former Super Falcons goalkeeper Ann Chiejine and home-based Super Eagles left back Ikouwem Udoh, who capped a memorable year by carting home the Young Player of the Year award (Men).


Young Player of the Year (Women)

Rasheedat Ajibade

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Ikouwem Udoh

Fair Play Award

Remo Stars FC

Fans of the Year

El-Kanemi Warriors

Coach of the Year (Women)

Ann Chiejine

Coach of the Year (Men)

Kennedy Boboye

Goal of the Year

Sikiru Olatunbosun

Development Award

Channels Sports

NFF Platinum Award

Gianni Infantino

Legend 11

Ann Chiejine; Austin Eguavoen, Christian Chukwu, Uche Okechukwu, Felix Owolabi, Nwankwo Kanu, Austin “Jay-Jay” Okocha, Segun Odegbami, Adokiye Amiesimaka, Mercy Akide-Udoh, Thomson Usiyan

Team of the year


Special Sports Person of the year 2017

Hannah Babalola

Wrestler of the year 2017

Odunayo Adekuroye

Ball Sports Person of the Year 2017

Evelyn Akhator

Journalist of the year (Print) 


Photo Journalist of the year

Olusegun Aderinto

Journalist of the year (Radio)

Tony Bekederemo

Journalist of the year (Radio)

Promise Efoghe

Coach of the year 2017

Akuh Purity (wrestling)

Sports Administrator of the year

Daniel Igali (Wrestling Federation) and Wahid Enitan Oshodi (table tennis federation)

Discovery of the year

Young golfer Georgia Oboh

Special Recognition Award

AmajuPinnick, Nigeria Football Federation president

Lifetime Achievement Award

Pa Fabio Olanipekun (veteran journalist)

Sports governor of the year

AkinwunmiAmbode of Lagos state and Emmanuel Udom of AkwaIbom

Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala

Player of the Year (Men)

Victor Moses

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

The SportsBay is a sports news digital magazine dedicated to bringing our growing local and international audience premium content in the world of sports. The desire to enrich and update our readers is one of the factors having this site up. Our goal is to fill that gap and keep readers and followers abreast with cutting-edge content.

Football Data

Latest soccer scores info. Football results, table & fixtures being loaded.

To Top
%d bloggers like this: